Tei-sensei pisses me off. He posts everyone's homework up on the board and points out our weaknesses. He tries to humiliate us into doing better work though he insists its "encouraging" us, and helping us apply ourselves to the material. He's already picked out certain students that he favors, while everyone else is practically just a disappointment. I dread going to Japanese now. He's one of the most de-motivational teachers I've ever had. His lectures are almost entirely made up of criticizing us for our faults, when maybe we wouldn't be having those problems if he'd actually take the time to teach lessons!
His criticism of the students has gotten so bad, that a lot of students consistently ditch class and some have even said that they "just can't handle" the material anymore. He tries to get us to compete with one another, while at the same time insisting that we work together. Its like he only has one A+, and only one of us is going to get it.
There was a situation where one of his favorite students read the Reading section for a test, and made a few mistakes, like everyone did. He told her that she did a fantastic job and could tell how much she had applied herself, studied, blah blah blah. When I read the reading section, I made no more or no fewer mistakes than this student. When I was finished, he paused, and asked me to translate the last sentence (no one else needed to translate...). Apparently, my translation wasn't good enough, so he just shook his head and said "Not quite. I'll give you a 9".
I'm not complaining about 9/10, that's a good score! But I cannot get over how rude he is. There were students who dreaded having to read for him, not because they weren't prepared, but because his criticism is completely out of line.
He especially loves "B"san. B-san is his pride and joy, and she can do no wrong in his eyes. He's constantly telling all of us to ask her questions and learn from her. Not to sound conceited, but there's nothing I can learn from someone who's constantly asking me to translate the material for her. The only reason she gets A's on all her homework is that she studies with a Japanese person!
I know it's wrong to talk about people but I am so fed up with Tei-sensei. The absolute biggest problem I have with him is that outside of or before and after class, he cares about us. He tells us he believes in us and that we have so much potential to succeed and move on to Japanese 2. He tells us his office is always open if we need help, and that if there's ever conflict in our lives that will interfere with Japanese, he will always help us. So.... he's a terrible person, and a terribly nice man!?
I miss Ishiyama.
Tuesday, March 2, 2010
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)

Nice blog. Ishiyama is a cool guy. "That is nice." lolI know you're strong though. hang in there! If anyone can do it, it's you!
ReplyDeleteYeah, Tei does that, but our class is fine. Also, I've found that if you disappoint him by not turning in over 90% of the homework for 8 weeks, he won't put it up for all to see..... xD
ReplyDelete