Looks like our favorite coffee shop in Willow Springs is about to go under. It truly must be the only place in the suburbs that has a different event each week, open mic nights on the second floor, a frikken TV with a Super Nintendo, shelves filled with books, artwork on every wall, and even stays open until 1AM every night. This place is always hoppin' and yet its soon to be no more. Why?
Because they don't advertise. Unless you or your friends actually go there or are from the area, I'm pretty sure the Ashbary is relatively unheard of throughout the rest of the 'burbs. And yet whenever I describe this place to people, they're amazed that a place like that actually exists outside of downtown Chicago.
Its such a shame. Advertising could be so easy! There are all kinds of free magazines like the Red Eye that feature tons of advertisements for all the locally owned, suburban, downtown, you-name-it businesses in the Chi-town area. It'll cost a little, that's given. But that money will all come straight back to them.
So I guess its a shame that its going to burn out so easily, but it was sure fun while it lasted.
Kara just-so-happened-to-be in town last night from UIC, so we got together to hang out and it was pretty fun. We met this guy at Ashbary named Bob who was a complete moron, so that put a big dent in the night. I don't want to get too into it, but this guy was drinking Blue Moon's all night (ohay, this coffee shop sells beer!) and went on a verbal rampage about politics for entirely too long. The debate, discussion, whatever you want to call it just never seemed to end.
So that was stupid, and we finally went back to Kara's house at around 12:30AM. We called Lindsay, and she came over at around 1:30AM. We watched a little bit of Fast Times At Ridgemont High, and then maybe the first 20 minutes of Nick & Norah's before we all crashed.
Woo Spring Break!
Sunday, March 7, 2010
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)

No comments:
Post a Comment