sea creatures, unite.

sea creatures, unite.

Sunday, May 2, 2010

(70) Coffee Drinkers, Unite!

Well, I had a blog post a moment ago, until my computer decided to freeze. Basically, coffee is good. Starbucks is bad.

If its not a brewed cup of coffee consisting of burned espresso or coffee beans, then its a fancy whipped cream, caramel, mocha, vanilla frappe-or-latte beverage with a taste similar to biting into a lemon. Anyone I know who feels that the best part of waking up is Folgers in your cup has a similar position as I do to the Starbucks epidemic. Luckily, the economic downfall has destroyed well over 500 USA locations carrying the infectious beverages, thus its become less of an issue.

You may be wondering why I compared the coffee-inspired beverages to a lemon when, well, clearly it's quite the opposite. Whenever I take a sip of a mocha or any other expensive drink, my eyes squint. I instinctively hold the drink away from me as to say "Someone, take it!", and then take a faint gasp for air after finally finishing the sip. The overwhelming amount of sugar coated onto the barely recognizable amount of espresso and milk is astounding. As a coffee drinker, I cannot call it coffee.

Yet, this is what coffee has become. My beloved morning pick-me-up has become a tainted status symbol coated with pretty colors and "blended to perfection". Only when I specifically ask the barista to only use 1/4 of the normal amount of sweeteners can I recogize the bittersweet taste of coffee and alas, I reach a soothing median.
Except, I just paid full price for it.

I loved working at The Coffee Beanery and there need to be more places like it. I was hoping to work there over winter/summer breaks, but it looks like some of the rules have gotten completley out of hand, and everyone I worked with is actually planning on quitting. I've heard nothing but terrible things, so it looks I'll never be stepping into the funnest job I've ever had, even if it did mean khaki pants and the dorkiest visor you've ever seen.

Where have all the good mom and pop shops gone?
One of my favorites, The Ashbary, is going under. Its a family owned business and isn't afraid to declare it to the world. Its the type of shop that has signs that say "The customer is NOT always right!" and "We don't serve Frappacinos here." Sure it sounds unfriendly and pretty damn unprofessional, but the customers always came back. Its one of the only places I've known that has open mic nights, poetry readings, bands, tons of young people to meet and hang out with until 1AM, couches, shevles full of books to read, board games like Risk, Clue, and other geeky Sci-fi things, and even a TV with a Super Nintento. Oh, and the coffee was fantastic. Cheap, too.

I remember summers with Kara and Lindsay and the Ashbary. Where will we go now? Certainly not Starbucks. Looks like we'll have to continue our never ending search for the perfect coffee shop. Until next time.... tata.

No comments:

Post a Comment