sea creatures, unite.

sea creatures, unite.

Wednesday, April 21, 2010

(60) Headache, and My Inablility to Take Tests Strikes Again

The time has come again where I experience yet another headache. When will they ever end? It seems like I can't go a week, or even a few days, without getting a headache one way or another. For awhile it was caffeine withdrawal, and when I read the label on all the best pain killer medicines for headaches, they always warn not to drink coffee because the pills are loaded with caffeine. I set myself up for pain and suffering the day I became an adult and had my first cup of coffee. I'll never see those gloomy days of glee and natural energy again. Coffee has consumed me.

On a lighter note, I failed the LUPE by 2% again. I'm pissed. And I don't know what to do because I have one more chance to pass and if I can't do it then I don't know whats going to happen to my schedule. Will it get dropped completely? Should I transfer schools? Maybe I really should just work at Hooters for the rest of my life, this school thing is totally kicking my ass.
I'm not serious about transferring and working at Hooters for the rest of my life, but I'm just in disbelief that this test is trying to tell me I'm a bad writer and I'm incompetent when trying to speak English. This exact same thing happened at my last school at Prairie State. I was given a placement exam for english, and it was an awful test filled with run-on sentences, atrocious grammar, fill-in-the-blanks-with-the-appropriate-word (aka fill in the blank with the word that the writer is most likely to use, since anyone who actually has their own personal writing style is obviously INCOMPETENT), and I failed it just like the LUPE. So I almost had to face the fate of being thrown into a high school level English class that didn't even count for credit, so I had to write an essay as my "second chance". The essay was A+ work and I rightfully gained access to the college level English 101.
Oh, and I aced that course, too.

Why can't I write an essay for this LUPE nonsense instead!? I hate tests of all kinds, even ones like this that I should be passing. I swear there's no way I got more than maybe 5 wrong on the lupe, but I've failed twice.

In other news, I missed David Choi. I'm 100% unfamiliar with his work, so I can honestly say I don't feel like I'm at a huge loss. I had to go to a PIR and it was actually pretty interesting. I liked it.

Also, my first class is canceled tomorrow so I get to sleep in, big time.

I'm eating M&M's.

2 comments:

  1. In the words of Bill O Riley: "Fuck it! Do it live!" aka keep on pushing to the end, it's all you can do.

    Also don't work at Hooters for the rest of your life you're much more than that and I will be very sad/disappointed/angry if you do.

    Tests prove nothing but being objective measuring sticks.

    If you fail the LUPE you just have to take a replacement class I believe, not sure though.

    David Choi was awesome, even if you were unfamiliar he was still a great guy to meet.

    Someone out there cares for you very much, and will never stop believing you are great!

    ReplyDelete