Anime music is undoubtedly one of my biggest guilty pleasures. Right now my secret playlist is featuring Revolutionary Girl Utena's Rinbun Revolution, something about saving damsels, ribbons, staring revolutions, giggling, and naked chicks. Its awesome.
I used to really want to be a voice-over for anime, and I still think it would be a lot of fun. I'd probably be the best one out there (the vanity continues! 51, 51, 51!!!), only because it seems like American actors don't put enough effort into the craft, which why I typically screw dubs anyway and go straight for the Japanese version. Plus picking up on the language helps ;p
If I could be a voice-over, I would totally go all out in my work. How fun would it be!? Whenever I watch an animated movie, tv show, or commercial, the first thing I notice is the voice. Does it match? Does it sync with the lip movements? Is the tone matching the mood of the message being delivered?
Its even got down to the point where I seriously watch the credits and try to familiarize myself with some of the actors' names and the voices they played. I always find myself stopping to listen to the voice when I hear the voice actor for cartoons or anime-- I'm trying to recognize the voice, the actor or actresses name, and if/where I've heard their work before.
I don't know why I do this; maybe because I've secretly wanted to hold a voice-over job since I was... well, around 13. Around the time I started getting into Japanese, and anime, and around the time I was basically just awkward.
Sometimes when I do recognize the voice, I actually get excited. Especially when I hear voices from my favorite cartoons or anime doing commercials or other good shows. Usually, I'll even point out/ask "Is that the voice of ____!??" and I get really giddy.
Does everyone do this? Or is it just me?
My absolute favorite dubbed anime is Slayers. Every voice matches perfectly to the character's personality, and they sync with the animations, to boot. A lot of times, I prefer to watch in English because it flows so naturally.... which almost makes me feel bad, because Lina Inverse is voiced by Megumi Hayashibara in Japanese. She is my favorite voice over, not to mention an awesome singer. I've idolized her since I was 13 and awkward, and always wanted to be sound just like her (lol).
I must say that deep down its still a dream of mine to be a voice-over, but I'm sure its going to stay that way. Its a little too far-fetched to chase after now. To land the best jobs, I'd need the best training, which ultimately falls under the category of pursuing a career in acting. There are too many other career opportunities I'm indulging in at the time. u_u
Sunday, April 11, 2010
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)

No comments:
Post a Comment