So I think that a major in advertising would be really fun. I'm loving my graphic design course, and I actually considered switching to advertising from PR, but then I realized... I normally don't like advertisements.
I'm not much of an artist, but I still have a pretty good hold on art as a whole. I see beauty in nearly everything, even "ugly" art. I can analyze, I know the principals, I can come up with tons of interpretations, I notice the background details of a painting, and so on. So how great would it be to work in a field that encourages this type of artistic recognition-- and a skilled eye?
Pretty great I suppose, and I know I'd love it. But advertisements will sometimes do anything for attention it seems, and the more controversy, the better. But at the same time, artful and meaningful advertisements probably wouldn't sell like the attention-getters, unless of course the ad is viewed by an art-lover.
Personally, when I see something completely artistic and creative, I'm more likely to stop and take a second-look. But I don't think I see them very often, and it makes me wonder if advertising companies specifically don't want artistic themes. I can really see that as making sense, though. Art probably targets a much narrower audience, with fewer people recognizing it as a message and/or advertisement, others just seeing it as a pretty picture on the wall, passing by without a second thought.
Well I know I'd love to make crazy ads and shock audiences with the "wow" factor, but it seems like too much pressure every day. If you mess up the advertisement, you've potentially put a dent the entire company's profit. Afterawhile, the needs and expectations of the company could become so narrow and straight-to-the-point, that I see myself becoming bored very easily.
Not only that, but the little feminist inside me flat-out says "No". The media sexualizes everything, specifically products that have nothing to do with sex in anyway. Anyone remember those Reebok commercials for the shoes that help get you in shape? Every commercial was either a naked woman in bed, or close-ups on her boobs and butt. And the magazine ads were pretty much the same.
Its not even just women, but men are all mimbos (referencing Seinfeld, go me!) in advertisements. The man who doesn't know what to do when he spills juice on the floor/doesn't seem to have logic of any kind, or is too obsessed with his sports show.
I'd love to work in a creative field like advertising, but its filled with sexism, can sometimes contain crude humor (which I don't like in general), is a hit-or-miss for the company, and I truly think I'd just be bored after awhile.
So, PR for me.
Monday, April 5, 2010
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)

yay Seinfeld reference
ReplyDelete